EIGHTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE FEDERATED STATES OF MICRONESIA

FIFTH REGULAR SESSION, 2014

C.R. NO. 18-214

A RESOLUTION

To ratify the Treaty between the Government of the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau, concerning the establishing of the Micronesia Trade and Economic Community and the Protocol on the Conference Structure, Secretariat, and Financial Matters of the MTEC, signed on behalf of the three State Parties on September 3, 2014.

WHEREAS, the Government of the Federated States of 1 Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic 2 of Palau conscious of their unique characteristics, including 3 4 small size and geographical isolation, common history and culture, 5 economic constraints and opportunities, and environmental and climate change challenges, are convinced that a joint sub-regional 6 trade and economic cooperation and integration approach represents 7 a sound strategy to building their resilience and achieving long-8 term sustainable economic development; and 9

WHEREAS, the Governments of the Federated States of 10 Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic 11 of Palau desire to increase and enhance their gradual 12 participation in regional cooperation and integration initiatives 13 as envisaged in the New Framework for Pacific Regionalism, the 14 15 Bangkok Declaration on Regional Economic Cooperation and Integration in Asia and the Pacific as well as enhance their 16 involvement in broader international trade and economy; and 17 WHEREAS, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of 18

the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau having previously

CRL 18-214

19

C.R. NO. 18-214

1 united as the Micronesian Trade Committee established through the 2 Memorandum of Understanding of July 3, 2008, following the mandate 3 of the 7th Micronesian President's Summit, are determined to foster 4 sub-regional cooperation and integration in the Micronesian sub-5 region by a joint representation and resources pooling to address 6 their most pressing trade and economic needs; and

7 WHEREAS, the 12th Micronesian Presidents' Summit of July 5, 8 2012, endorsed the Outcomes of the 5th MTC Meeting recommending to 9 supersede the Memorandum of Understanding establishing the 10 Micronesian Trade Committee with a Treaty; and

WHEREAS, the President of the Federated States of Micronesia, 11 the President of the Republic of Marshall Islands, and the 12 President of the Republic of Palau have signed the Treaty 13 establishing the Micronesian Trade and Economic Community and the 14 Protocol on the Conference Structure, Secretariat, and Financial 15 Matters of the MTC on September 3, 2014, in Apia, Samoa, and the 16 Federated States of Micronesia now desires to ratify the Treaty; 17 18 now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Eighteenth Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia, that the Eighteenth Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia, Fifth Regular Session, 2014, that Congress hereby ratifies the Treaty establishing the Micronesian Trade and Economic Community and the Protocol on the Conference Structure, Secretariat, and Financial Matter on the MTC signed on September 3, 2014;

1	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a certified copy of this
2	resolution be transmitted to the President of the Federated States
3	of Micronesia.
4	
5	Date: <u>9/23/14</u> Introduced by: <u>/s/ Florencio S. Harper</u>
6	Florencio S. Harper (by request)
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	